GDT – The Great Divide Trail and CDT – Continental Great Divide Trail

GDT – The Great Divide Trail and CDT – Continental Great Divide Trail

The Great Divide Trail is the Canadian portion of the Continental Divide Trail. The Continental Divide Trail or CDT is 3,100 miles long and stretches from Canada to Mexico.  It snakes across five states along the backbone of the USA. The CDN connects rugged, open spaces like the Gila Wilderness in New Mexico, the San Juans in Colorado, the Wind River Range in Wyoming, the Big Hole in Idaho and the Bob Marshall Wilderness in Montana.

The Great Divide Trail or GDT begins inWaterton Lakes National Park at the Canada-US border (where it connects with the Continental Divide Trail) and ends in Kakwa Provincial Park north of Jasper National Park.

Great Divide Trail Map

Great Divide Trail Map- Canadian Rocky Mountain Route (Used with permisiion and adapted from

The GDT is not officially recognized by Parks Canada and therefore is not signed and not always even an actual trail, sometimes merely a wilderness route. The GDT passes through five National Parks: Waterton Lakes, Banff, Kootenay, Yoho and Jasper; seven Provincial Parks: Akamina-Kishinena, Elk Lakes, Peter Lougheed, Height of the Rockies, Mount Assiniboine, Mount Robson and Kakwa; four wilderness areas: Beehive Natural Area, Kananaskis Country, White Goat Wilderness and Willmore Wilderness Area; and five forest districts: Castle, Bow/Crow, Cranbrook, Golden and Robson Valley.